baby preparation course…a.k.a. watching the olympics

February 27, 2010

“Oh MAN, am I tired!”

This is, supposedly, the cry of every new parent as they welcome, most likely, the biggest change into their lives that they’ve, probably, ever experienced. Well, as likely as this is to be MY reason for the very same expression of despair in a very short time, in this case there was an entirely different reason for it. However, in the name of justification, I like to call this my “Baby Preparation Course”.

As I mentioned earlier, I’m a huge fan of the Olympics…I can watch pretty much every sport and really get into it (even Figure Skating on occasion). Unfortunately, with the Olympics taking place in Vancouver this year, it has made watching them a challenge (read my blog on trying to watch hockey on the internet: https://therocketiers.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/watching-the-olympics-in-germany/) It has also meant that if I want to watch a game live, I need to get up in the middle of the night to do so. So, I’ve been trying to work my sleep schedule around so line up with the Olympics (which should sound familiar to parents) so that I can watch but still manage to get a reasonable amount of sleep in the meantime. This (which should also sound familiar to parents) hasn’t exactly worked to perfection. However, it’s been very rewarding and I’ve been able to enjoy some great hockey (and other things) and, for the most part, the rest of my life hasn’t suffered too badly.

I’m pretty excited for the coming baby and with the T-Minus count is almost upon us, the excitement is growing. I’ve determined that as tired as I get as a new father, I will do my very best NOT to complain about how tired I am. Not sure how this will work out but for now, I’m enjoying my pre-baby Olympic preparation course. It has been SO much fun to be able to do this and I’ve been realizing, pretty much everyday, how lucky I am to live in a world where I can just sit in my living room, sans TV, and watch sports taking place across the world.

Bring on the BABY!

jer

Leave a Reply

