me and my big mouth…

February 17, 2010

So…time for personal revelations from Jeremy…today I had a moment where I realized a current trend in my life. This is the trend of talking at people. I’m pretty sure that I’ve never been short on words in my entire life but lately…it’s been irritating. And if it’s irritating to me…

Anyway, this is not a moment of “oh, I realized I’m a jerk I feel bad” and I’m definitely not fishing for any sort of encouragement or sympathy. This is about how easy it is to make a conversation into a rant and pretty much do away with the whole “dialogue” thing and turn the conversation into a series of monologues. I know some people who do this and to be honest, I think we all do. If you’re reading this you know at least one.

It’s amazing how easy it is to stop listening to people. I mean, it’s hard for me to remember the last time where I just listened, allowed for the person to fully complete their thought, waited a few seconds to think about what they said, and then gave a response. Rather, I’m often so overcome by my “great response” that I will interrupt people in the midst of what they’re saying. Maybe it comes from a desire to really “be heard” or the fear that “if I don’t say this now, I won’t be able to say it ever and this conversation will forever be lacking my awesome response”…or something like that.

Anyway, enough of this, just a quick thought and maybe a challenge for you…if you have a big mouth like me that is…maybe we could all take a couple minutes and listen. Like, really listen…might hear something that’s way more awesome than the thing we wanted to say.

jer

Leave a Reply

